top of page

When you “can’t tell the difference between a Tony Award and Tony Hawk”

Mary-Louise Parker and Bruce Willis announced the 2015 Tony Nominations on Tuesday, April 28, 2015.

The Antoinette Perry Award for Excellence in Theatre, as it is formally known, praises the stars on and off the stage of live Broadway shows. The actual ceremony will be held on June 7, 2015 on CBS from Radio City Music Hall, hosted by Kristin Chenoweth and Alan Cumming.

The nominations are as follows:

Best Play “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time” by Simon Stephens “Disgraced” by Ayad Akhtar “Hand to God” by Robert Askins “Wolf Hall Parts One & Two” by Hilary Mantel and Mike Poulton

Best Musical “An American in Paris” “Fun Home” “Something Rotten!” “The Visit”

Freshman Aya Cariaso said, “I’m so excited to see who wins best musical. Personally, I think they’re way more entertaining than just plays because the actors are phenomenal singers, dancers, and actors instead of just mind-blowing actors.”

Best Revival of a Musical “The Elephant Man” “Skylight” “This Is Our Youth” “You Can’t Take It with You”

Best Revival of a Play “The King and I” “On the Town” “On the Twentieth Century”.

Best Performance by an Actress in a leading role in a play Geneva Carr in “Hand to God” Helen Mirren in “The Audience” Elizabeth Moss in “The Heidi Chronicles” Carey Mulligan in “Skylight” Ruth Wilson in “Constellations”

Best Performance by an Actor in a leading role in a play Steven Boyer in “Hand to God” Bradley Cooper in “The Elephant Man” Ben Miles in “Wolf Hall Parts One & Two” Bill Nighy in “Skylight” Alex Sharp in “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

Best Leading Actress in a Musical Kristin Chenoweth in “On the Twentieth Century” Leanne Cope in “An American in Paris” Beth Malone in “Fun Home” Kelli O’Hara in “The King and I” Chita Rivera in “The Visit”

Best Leading Actor in a Musical Michael Cerveris in “Fun House” Robert Fairchild in “An American in Paris” Brian d’Arcy James in “Something Rotten!” Ken Watanabe in “The King and I” Tony Yazbeck in “On the Town”

Best Original Score Jeanine Tesori and Lisa Kron for “Fun Home” Sting for “The Last Ship” Wayne and Karley Kirkpatrick for “Something Rotten!” John Kander with Fred Ebb for “The Visit” The score can be considered to be the most integral part of any play, creating a feeling for the audience that simply cannot be communicated through words.

Freshman Michaela Cardile said, “Sometimes the score is my favorite part of an entire show. It really ties everything together and draws the audience into the story.”

Another Tony is awarded for both male and female featured roles in a play and musical, best scenic design of a play and musical, best costume design of a play and a musical, best lighting design of a play and musical, best direction of a play and musical, best choreography, and best orchestrations.

Awards and honors are given out for non-competitive categories to deserving Thespians in the business. Tommy Tune will receive the Special Tony Award for lifetime achievement in the theater; John Cameron Mitchell will get the Special Tony Award; the Cleveland Play House will be awarded the Regional Theater Tony Award; the Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award will go to Stephen Schwartz; and Arnold Abramson, Adrian Bryan-Brown, and Gene O’Donovan will receive Tony Honors for excellence in theater.

Which show do you think will take home the Tony for Best Play?

  1. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

  2. Disgraced

  3. Hand to God

  4. Wolf Hall Parts One & Two

Loading ...

1 view0 comments


bottom of page